The 5 stages of Grief

It was such sad news about the death of the queen. Regardless of your views on the royal family, the queen has been a constant in most people’s lives. It’s a particularly tough time for the royal family who must live out their grief in front of the worlds press.

Watching all this week’s events unfold may be more difficult for some of you who have experienced grief.

If you’re finding yourself more tearful, it could be because your own grief is being triggered.

We all have our own way of dealing with grief; some may lock it away and keep moving forwards, some may feel stuck and unable to move on, others may be unable to cope at all.

Grief doesn’t go away, it just changes.

Everyone cycles through the different stages of grief, until they get to the point of acceptance.

Sometimes it’s not death that triggers grief, it can be the end of a relationship, or the end of a way of life. This will feel the same as grief, but people are more likely to not understand or make allowances for what you’re going through.

There are 5 stages of grief that people go through, until you get to the end point of acceptance. Remember that grief isn’t only triggered by death, but by things ending and having to let go of them.

The 5 stages are:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance


Denial is almost disbelief that this is happening. It’s waiting for someone to tell you that there’s been a terrible mistake so that your life can go back to normal.

Anger is just that. Feeling angry that this terrible thing has happened and why has it happened to you, or them. Rallying against the injustice of things and how unfair it is.

Bargaining is the point at which you may feel guilt. You may ask yourself questions about things you ‘should’ have done differently, or if only you had or hadn’t done this……..everything would be ok.

Depression is a normal, human reaction to grief. It’s an appropriate reaction to the sadness of loss or change. At this point, you may feel stuck and unable to move on with your life.

Acceptance is when you can accept and make sense of what has happened in your life. You can acknowledge and adjust your life accordingly. Yes, the sadness will still be there, but it doesn’t stop you rebuilding and enjoying your future.